Voters' April 9 Choices Become Clear

Contested elections emerge for some school board, municipal and township races.

Lake Forest and Lake Bluff voters will make choices in the April 9 election in contested elections for three school boards as well as some municipal offices and all Shields Township offices.

Five people—Todd Burgener, Dave Schreiber, John Powers, Steve Reimer and Robert “Ted” Moorman—are running for four open seats on the Lake Forest Community High School District 115 Board of Education.

Want more Lake Forest-Lake Bluff business news? Sign up for our free newsletter.

In Lake Forest School District 67, Beth Clemmensen, Jeff Folker, Robert Lemke, Patrick Patt and Mike Borkowski are seeking the four seats available for that board.

In Lake Bluff, seven people are running for four seats on the Lake Bluff District 65 Board of Education. They are Christine Letchinger, Richard Hegg, John Marozsan, Kate Amaral, Julie Gottshall, Mary Jane Brady and Eric Waggoner.

Some municipal offices for the Village of Lake Bluff are contested while everyone running for mayor or city council in Lake Forest is unopposed.

Any possible drama in the Lake Forest could be over at the City Council meeting today. After Mayor James Cowhey announced his resignation Wednesday, there is a motion before the Council today to appoint Donald Schoenheider to complete the term.

Schoenheider has no opponent in the April 9 election for mayor. City Council candidates Catherine Waldeck in the First Ward, George Pandaleon in the Second Ward, Jack Reisenberg in the Third Ward and Michael Adelman in the Fourth Ward have no opposition either.

In Lake Bluff, Kathleen O’Hara has no opponent for village president nor does village clerk contender Barbara Ankenman. Ruth Schnell is the sole candidate seeking an unexpired two-year term on the Library Board.

Four people—Bill Meyer, John Josephitis, Krikor “Greg” Tchamitchain and Eric Grenier—are hoping for the three seats open on the Lake Bluff Village Board while Carole Stroh, Scot Butler, Timothy Kregor, Romain Wojda, Stanley Hickory and Carl Schons are after the four four-year terms available for the Library Board.

In Shields Township, the Shields Township Active Reform Team and the Unified Shields Party have competing slates for all offices.

The Active Reform Team has slated Cynthia Maloney for supervisor, Lanelle Collins for clerk, Kathy Blahunka for assessor, Scott Anderson for Highway Commissioner and a team of William Brown, Laura Carney, J. Patrick Corsiglia and Gerry Phillips for the four trustee spots.

Making up the Unified ticket are Gail Strenger Wayne for supervisor, Caroline Harrington for clerk, Patricia Lenzini for assessor and Dan Rogers for highway commissioner. The four trustee candidates are Hollis Steadman, Heather Kerr, Richard Goshgarian and Dawn Barnum.

For more news and updates, "like" us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something